CDCB Committees

Dairy producers, industry professionals and scientists provide input to develop and implement CDCB services and genetic evaluations.

Producer Advisory Committee (PAC)

Dairy farmers appointed by the CDCB Board provide grassroots input for strategy, policy, future priorities and opportunities.

Dairy producers Bill Peck, Sean Tollenaar, Tom Kestell, Spencer Hackett, and Greg Andersen (left to right) served on the Producer Advisory Committee, along with Anthony Machado (not pictured), in 2023.

PAC Members

Greg Andersen
American Falls, ID
greg@seagullbaydairy.com

Kent Buttars
Lewinston, UT
kent_buttars@yahoo.com

Mack Drees
Peshtigo, WI
mack.drees@hotmail.com

Spencer Hackett
Rice, MN
spenett@jetup.net

Matt Hendel
Caledonia, MN
hendelfarms@gmail.com

Tom Kestell
Waldo, WI
tkestell66@gmail.com

David Lawerence
Muleshoe, TX
David@Caprockdairy.com

Mary “Sam” Smith
Monkton, MD
mosmlmf@gmail.com

Guy Vogel
Reedsville, WI
guykay1@gmail.com

Dairy Evaluation Review Team (DERT)

Before the triannual releases in April, August and December, an independent validation process is conducted by genetic industry leaders through objective and confidential early reviews of results. This improves evaluation accuracy by identifying potential issues before public release.

DERT Members

Sam Comstock

Holstein Association USA

scomstock@holstein.com

Tom Lawlor

Holstein Association USA

tlawlor@holstein.com

Mehdi Sargolzaei

Select Sires, Inc.

msargolzaei@selectsires.com

Ryan Starkenburg

ABS Global, Inc.

ryan.starkenburg@genusplc.com

Bob Welper

PEAK Genetics

bwelper@altagenetics.com

Genetic Evaluation Methods Group (GEM)

The GEM group provides independent counsel, impartial advice and strategic guidance to CDCB and USDA AGIL staff as they develop dairy genetic evaluations.

GEM Members

Christian Maltecca, Chair

North Carolina State University

christian_maltecca@ncsu.edu

Tom Lawlor

Holstein Association USA

tlawlor@holstein.com

Daniela Lourenco

University of Georgia

danilino@uga.edu

Ezequiel Nicolazzi

Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding

Ezequiel.nicolazzi@uscdcb.com

Ryan Starkenburg

ABS Global

ryan.starkenburg@genusplc.com

Robert Tempelman

Michigan State University

tempelma@msu.edu

Paul VanRaden

USDA AGIL

paul.vanraden@ars.usda.gov

Kent Weigel

University of Wisconsin-Madison

kweigel@wisc.edu

Evaluation Frequency Task Force (EFTF)

EFTF was convened to prepare a cost-benefit analysis of increasing the frequency of full genetic evaluations and to develop an implementation strategy (if current frequency is modified).

EFTF Members

Chuck Sattler, Chair

Select Sires, Inc.

cgsattler@selectsires.com

Angie Coburn

Dairy Records Management Systems

acoburn@ncsu.edu

João Dürr

Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding

joao.durr@uscdcb.com

Tom Lawlor

Holstein Association USA

tlawlor@holstein.com

Ezequiel Nicolazzi

Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding

Ezequiel.nicolazzi@uscdcb.com

Steven Sievert

National Dairy Herd Information Association

sjsievert@dhia.org

Neal Smith

American Jersey Cattle Association

nsmith@usjersey.com

Steven Smith

Amelicor

stevens@amelicor.com

Andy Stiefel

ABS Global

Andy.Stiefel@genusplc.com

Paul VanRaden

USDA AGIL

paul.vanraden@ars.usda.gov

Milking Speed Evaluation Task Force

The MS-TF was appointed to review the potential for implementing genetic evaluations for milking speed in all dairy breeds and make recommendations to ensure data flow, data quality and publication standards.

Milking Speed Evaluation Task Force

Asha Miles, Chair

USDA Animal Genomics Improvement
Laboratory

asha.miles@usda.gov

Jeffrey Bewley

Holstein Association USA

jbewley@holstein.com

João Dürr

Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding

joao.durr@uscdcb.com

Sophie Eaglen

National Association of Animal Breeders

seaglen@naab-css.org  

Robert Fourdraine

Dairy Records Management Systems

rhfourdr@ncsu.edu

Kristen Gaddis

Council on Dairy Cattle Breeding

kristen.gaddis@uscdcb.com

Steven Sievert

National Dairy Herd Information Association

sjsievert@dhia.org